Guest Post from Lynn

Bahamas Moving Company

 

 

 

Sittin’ at my desk by the Bay’”

 

Here I sit at my computer wondering exactly what, if anything, I’ve accomplished since setting foot on this island nearly a month ago. The answer is, not a heck of a lot.


Most of you know me as an over achieving sort who can’t sit still, However, it occurred to me that perhaps there is a cure for this trait, and it is called Eleuthera!


Today was just another day of body surfing, and playing on a lovely beach with Kervin’s grandson, Po. I finished reading my fifth book, and I am now waiting for the pot to boil so I can plop in today’s fresh crawfish. Near me is a cold Kalik! Not such a tough life, and ever so relaxing. I tell you this because I know many of you thought I would never find a cure for my hyperactivitism. There IS hope for all ye who enter Bahamian waters!


This is not to say we have been bereft of small adventures. Before Judith left me to this idle life last Thursday, she decided we needed a lounge chair for the porch. Seems simple enough. If one has money enough, that task ought to be fairly easy.

There are two “furniture” stores here: Tarpum Bay Shopping Centre, and Tarpum Bay Furniture. They are side by side and both run by Careys. This is true of almost every business in T. Bay. The Shopping Centre carries pillows and paint, nuts to screw on and nuts to eat, wire and wireless phones, and on the top, somewhat dusty floor, is furniture. This is where we got most of the stuff for our house. Their inventory is down of late, but I found a dandy mirror yesterday.


I must digress: I bought the mirror, a woven rattan thingum which allows a full body view…arrrgh. As I was unloading it, two men were walking by the car, and I asked if they could help carry it upstairs to my bedroom. Indeed they could. They asked if I would like them to also hang it. “That would be very nice,” I said. After much tapping and knocking, they allowed that they’d found a stud. Then came  measuring: how high? How low? Use the stud closer to the door, or the one towards the wall’s middle? We made all these hard decisions, and now we went in search of a nail. Kervin has odds and ends left from building, I brought down some supplies, but no nail we could find was right. Carlos, the younger, not to be defeated by the lack of a nail, went out to the road and found the perfect one! It was apparently left over from the Methodists’ roofing project. And so at last the mirror was hung and the day’s task ended.


Back to the lounge chair. We determined the Shopping Centre did not have a lounger, but we peeked into the windows of the almost always closed Furniture Store, and there, far back on the left, was a gleaming white stack of plastic loungers. “Perfect!” said Judith. “Now how do we get someone to sell one to us?”

There were two numbers posted on the door. We called both, neither worked. While getting supper at Miss Barbies, Judith mentioned our plight and was given the name and number of a person who might know how to get the owner. She called. The owner was at another number setting up for the annual Black and White Gala, a dress up event for locals.

She would come right down.


A dusty, hot, half hour later of sitting on the step awaiting her arrival, Miz Marie and a Hatian helper arrived. We made the transaction, the chair was the right kind, the price too high, but it is what it is here on Eleuthera.


The getting from there to here proved to be as difficult as locating the shop owner. The little Haitian man determined it would not fit into the trunk: good call. Next was the back seat. That worked only if both doors were left open: not good. The final solution was for Judith to drive. The lounger was placed at right angles to the car on the car’s roof. I sat in the back seat, the little Haitian in the front. The only car windows that work are passenger and behind the driver, so I opened mine, reached up and held on; the little guy did the same from the passenger seat, all the time nodding and bobbing and saying, “very good. Very very good.” with a big grin. At a snail’s pace we covered the two miles between store and house with no mishaps.


We then off loaded the lounger and attempted to get it thru the gate onto the front porch. This was only accomplished after I,the tallest of the group, put it on top of MY head and squeezed thru our narrow gate, the little man trying to help me balance. The lounger was at last in its final resting place. The helper was taken back to the store , and we returned to enjoy a cool drink and congratulate ourselves on the mission accomplished.


These are the exciting things that make up a “busy” day in Tarpum Bay. Small things are accomplished, but they take twice as long and cost twice as much as in Traverse City: with one exception. Tonight’s 1 ½ pound lobster cost me $9.00. Bon Appetite!

3 thoughts on “Guest Post from Lynn

  1. Watchin’ the tide roll way…………
    Nothing finer than the art of being. I would like “being” in Eleuthera right about now on this snowy mixed with sleet and ice Vermont Day.

  2. Oh my! Short as I am, I would have been no help at all. Glad it all worked out. I would have thought a lounge chair was basic there though. What do the locals lounge in? I love hearing the adventures of you Traverse City ites on this remote island paradise with its simple life and charming people. Thank you for sharing your adventures.

    Love, Nan

Leave a Reply

