Dinner at the Culmer Cottage

"Chris", a pencil sketch by Judith Lindenau

"Chris", a pencil sketch by Judith Lindenau

“Very nice fish, Lynn. I surely do love fresh grouper.”

“Probably would have been better if I had dredged it in a little flour before I cooked it, but when it’s only an hour out of the ocean, you can’t go wrong.’

“You know, Kervin must be arround here somewhere. I hear his ignition dinging—he’s left the key in the truck and the door open. Always a sign that he’s here.”

“Of course he’s here, Judith. It’s dinner time, isn’t it?”

“MIZLYNN! MIZJUDITH! MIZLYNN! HEY! I GOT THE THINGUM FOR THE PICTURE FRAME.”

“Come in, Kervin. You’re just in time for some grouper and some potatoes.”

“MIZLYNN! NO! I CAN’T STAY. I GOT TO GO HOME. NO!”

“Sure you can have some. Here. Sit down and eat. We have plenty.”

“OK. What’s this fish?”

“Grouper, Kervin. I just bought it off the dock.”

“MizLynn! How you know dis is grouper? How you know dat?”

“Kervin, I know it because the fisherman at the dock told me.”

“You don’t know grouper. I know grouper. I got some in my cooler. Why don’t you come to my house and get grouper? These guys at the dock, they tell you anything! I don’t know what kinda fish this is. You come to ME, MizLynn, when you want fish.”

“Well, Kervin, it must be ok. You seem to have polished it right off.”

“MizJudith, it’s a SNACK! I been fishin’ all day, nuttin since coffee this mornin’. I am gonna go home and cook boxer fish and pasta for my dinner.”

“Would you like a beer?”

“No, MizLynn. I got a little bottle of scotch, I am gonna have for this evening because Brenda, she’s in Nassau.”

“Well, before you go, Kervin, will you look at the new weed whacker? I got some gas in it, but I can’t get it started.”

“MIZLYNN! I TELL YOU NOT TO USE THAT WEEDWHACKER! DON’T! YOU PAY SOMEBODY TO USE WEEDWHACKER ON THESE ROCKS! I TELL YOU, MIZLYNN!”

“ Sure, sure, Kervin. But would you please see if it works? I couldn’t get it started yesterday.”

“MIZLYNN! SEE THIS BUTTON? YOU GOTTA HAVE IT PUSHED DOWN. IT SAY R-U-N, RUN! YOU DON’T PUSH IT DOWN, IT WON’T START. Stand back, now. I will show you.”

“Kervin! Kervin! Shut that thing down! I want to keep those little yellow flowers. Kervin! Can you hear me? Shut that down! It’s dark, and you can’t see what you are doing. Stop! The little yellow….”

“OK, OK, Mizlynn. See how easy it is? Don’t you do it. I got to go now, cook box fish.”

“Hey Kervin, before you go, could I ask you one question?”

“What, MizJudith? I tole you I gots to go now.”

“Well Kervin, why is there water under the sink? See how wet the wood is over there in the corner?”

“Yeah, and that bottom drawer is all swollen shut, too, Kervin.”

“MIZLYNN! MIZJUDITH! THIS IS NOT GOOD! WHY YOU NOT TELL ME SOONER?”

“Because, Kervin, I just noticed it yesterday, and you haven’t been around.”

“Oh, I gotta fix this. Oh, I gotta get some wood and stuff. I gotta fix this. I gotta go to Rock Sound tomorrow and get stuff and fix this. Now I go home. Goodbye.”

“Bye, Kervin. Hi, Chris.”

“Hi, MizLynn. I am back from my job in the Harbour Island for a few days. I came to see you.”

“Hi, Chris. You know Miss Judith?”

“Oh, yes, we’ve met. Hi, Miss Judith. You have a lovely house. But what’s that dripping noise I hear?”

“Oh, Chris, that’s the drip that Kervin just found.”

“Sounds more like a waterfall to me. Oh, look! There’s a huge puddle under the sink. Oh, that’s not good. Look at that! Perhaps I’d better turn off the water here until you get it fixed. You can call Mr. Tim-Bert Carey in the morning.”

“Thank you, Chris, that would be perfect. It’s so good to see you. And thank you so much for coming to visit and saving us from the waterfall. Plan on coming to our housewarming party next month. Bye.”

“Well, Lynn, at least we don’t have to do the dishes….”

“I agree. Let’s turn off the porch light and shut the door. We surely don’t need any more visitors.”

One thought on “Dinner at the Culmer Cottage

  1. Ahhhh, a nice relaxing evening at Culmer Cottage! I love it! Kervin with his “little bottle of scotch”, the “waterfall”, the durn fisherman tell you anything! You don’t know Grouper!!!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

