Sick People Need Secretaries, Too…

 

 paperwork.jpg

End of Tuesday, and I am really tired.  It’s not just that drains were pulled, some stitches taken out, dressings changed, physical therapy for upper and lower body endured, and doctors visits received – there’s also a lot of paperwork involved in being sick:

1.       1. I have to be ‘de-admitted’ from the hospital here.  This is an intricate community decision, involving doctors, nurses, physical therapists, a hospital social worker, and countless lab reports also dancing to the music of a consensus.

2.  2.I must apply for admission to Orchard Creek.  I must qualify, of course…not have too high a maintenance need, or too low, have financial resources, have an appropriate disability for that facility, and find a bed where I want to go.  The hospital social worker is a big help here…  But once I am at OC I know I will become a ‘new patient’ and have the evaluations done and the paperwork repeated.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>3.       <!–[endif]–>I have to continue Medicare funding eligibility.  The facility has to be eligible. So does the equipment, doctor, and medicine.  Again, that Angel of Mercy, the hospital social worker, visits me today and helps me understand The Rules.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>4.       <!–[endif]–>Because I am switching insurance providers for a Medicare supplemental policy, these insurance qualifications have to be met.  I also have to find the new identification cards which I didn’t pay much attention to when they came in the mail: after all, the old policy was in effect until February 1, wasn’t it?  Wonder where I put them?

<!–[if !supportLists]–>5.       <!–[endif]–>And I have some other policies with benefits that may kick in: they want financial records from all my hospital and doctor visits as well as medicines and apparatus (like walkers and canes).

<!–[if !supportLists]–>6.       <!–[endif]–>I need to modify my house.  Fortunately I have a good builder whom I trust implicitly, and he’s out getting estimates, and calculating the incline of the wheelchair ramp, and things like that.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>7.       <!–[endif]–>Cancel airline tickets! I totally blew that one—I should be heading for an East Coast Board of Realtors tomorrow.  And while I told the client I wouldn’t be there, I woke up at 4 AM remembering that I forgot to tell the airline to cancel that one and several other tickets as well. I have filed for a refund, but of course I need paperwork, including an excuse from my doctor….

<!–[if !supportLists]–>8.       <!–[endif]–>Income Tax. Social Security Benefit Filing.  Missing auto title for the Subaru I am selling.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>9.       <!–[endif]–>And the work I am doing for various clients…I love this work, and it keeps me intellectually alive, but how do I balance it with items 1-8? 

Whew.  I am exhausted just thinking about these things.  Guess I need a nap.  Tomorrow is another day…

5 thoughts on “Sick People Need Secretaries, Too…

  1. An ugly list, but I really like item 9 because it says you are still moving on and not just “backing and filling” (..out the papers). Soon you’ll be back in the refurbished house and I suspect tearing around on some sort of electrified wheel chair. And, doubtless cranking and whistling away.

  2. Judy…I do think of our long ago friendship; when the kids were young! My stay with Dick
    Smith & Co. was not very long.
    You were such a dynamic lady then; and sounds as if you still are! Tomorrow is another day…God bless.
    Mary Murton

  3. Lord have mercy!!! The administrative layers are endless. This amount of complication is mind boggling. Wishing you strength to get through it all.

  4. You know it is a hard lesson to learn exactly what we are made of. It is frightening to question whether will be be strong enough, have the ability, the stamina? I have known many, many people. If I was asked my opinion on those questions about each of them, it would be that most would fall into the average category – they’d make it for a time, give up for awhile, try again, and with a lot of pushing and shoving, they’d be okay. A few, would just crack under the pressure, they’d give up. Then, there is that select few who everyone knows will “just do it!” One of those “just do it” friends had a terrible motorcyle accident and anyone else in his shoes would have died. We all said, if anyone could get through this it was him. He is still working very diligently, very thoroughly to rehabilitate even though we are now into years since it happened, but he has surpassed any normal expectations of recovery, he astounds many doctors. Now, there is you. Judith, I have absolutely no doubt about you. My belief in you is so complete that there is no room for even the slightest thought that you will be down for long. You just are one of those rare persons who unfortunately gets dealt this kind of situation and as twisted as it might seem, maybe it is dealt to you because you can overcome this. More than likely you will do it with a great deal of grace. So, as a dedicated believer in the J. Lindenau theory on tenacity, let’s git ‘er done!

    Here is a quote that seemed apropos. (I know, I know, I don’t write for sometime and then I write a book.)

    Louis Pasteur:
    Let me tell you the secret that has led me to my goal: my strength lies solely in my tenacity.

    S

Leave a Reply

